Sustainable Communities
Capacity Center

Economic DevelopmentPlanning & Land UseEco-MunicipalityEnergy
Climate ChangeAgriculture & Natural ResourcesConsumer ChoicesCommunity Stories

 

  farm

 
 

    Sustainability Team Information

Jessica Beckendorf
jessica.beckendorf@ces.uwex.edu
Associate Lecturer
Community, Natural Resource and Economic Development
Educator
UW Extension, Outagamie County
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:
Economic Development  

Dave Berard
david.berard@ces.uwex.edu

Associate Program Director

Community, Natural Resource and Economic Development
UW Extension, Madison, WI
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise: 
Economic Development, Community Stories
 
Kimberly Biedermann
kim.biedermann@ces.uwex.edu
Associate Lecturer
Community Development Educator
UW Extension, Winnebago County
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Economic Development
Laura Brown
laura.brown@ces.uwex.edu
Community Development and Economic Specialist
Center for Community and Economic Development
UW Extension, Madison, WI

For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Planning & Land Use, Community Stories
Specialized tools:
Sustainable Agriculture, Local Foods Systems
 
Kelly Cain
kelly.d.cain@uwrf.edu
Director
St. Croix Institute for Sustainable Community Development
University of Wisconsin - River Falls

For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:
Eco-Municipality,  Planning & Land Use, Energy, Climate Change, Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:  
Systems Thinking, Climate Change Strategy, Ecological Economics, Indicators, Ecological Design, Sustainable Agriculture 

Joshua Clements
joshua.clements@ces.uwex.edu
Economic Development Educator
University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension
UW Extension, Walworth County 
For more information on this team member, click here

Area of Expertise:
Economic Development, Planning & Land Use, Energy, Climate Change
Specialized Tools:
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, Green Building, Ecological Design, Local Foods Systems

Jason Fischbach
jason.fischbach@ces.uwex.edu
Bayfield and Ashland County Agriculture Agent
UW Extension, Bayfield/Ashland County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Agriculture & Natural Resources
         
 
Karl Green
karl.green@ces.uwex.edu
Assistant Professor, Community Resource Development
UW Extension, La Crosse County
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Economic Development

Sherrie Gruder
sherrie.gruder@ces.uwex.edu 
Sustainable Design Specialist, Distinguished Lecturer
Solid & Hazardous Waste Education Center
University of Wisconsin - Madison

For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Eco-Municipality, Energy, Climate Change
Specialized tools:
Systems Thinking, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, Green Building, Indicators

Anna Haines
anna.haines@ces.uwex.edu
Associate Professor, Extension Specialist and Center Director
Center for Land Use Education
University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Eco-Municipality, Planning & Land Use, Community Stories
Specialized tools:    
Community Development

Jane Hansen 
jane.hansen@co.price.wi.us
Price Direct Marketing Specialist
UW Extension, Price County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Agriculture & Natural Resources, Consumer Choices
Specialized tools:
Local Foods Network

Jerry Hembd
jhembd@uwsuper.edu
Professor and State Specialist
Northern Center for Community and Economic Development
University of Wisconsin - Superior
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Eco-Municipality, Economic Development, Community Stories
Specialized tools:
Industrial Ecology, Ecological Economics, Indicators, Investments

Jason Kauffeld
jason.kauffeld@ces.uwex.edu
Instructor

Community, Natural Resource and Economic Development Agent
UW Extension, Green Lake County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Agriculture & Natural Resources, Forestry
Specialized tools:
Forestry, Sustainable Agriculture 

Pete Kling     
pete.kling@ces.uwex.edu
Community Resource Agent
Agricultural Service and Education Center 
UW Extension, St. Croix County

For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Planning & Land Use, Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:
Bio-based Production 

Mary Kluz
mary.kluz@ces.uwex.edu
Associate Professor
Community Resource Development Agent
UW Extension, Marathon County

For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise: 
Eco-Municipality
Specialized tools:
Systems Thinking, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Joe Kottwitz
jkott735@gmail.com
Energy Advisor
Focus on Energy - Business Incentive Program
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Energy
Specialized tools: 
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Steve Kozak
skozak@lco.edu
Instructor, Lac Courte Oreilles
Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Energy

Matt Kures
matthew.kures@ces.uwex.edu

GIS State Specialist
Center for Community and Economic Development
UW Extension, Madison
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Economic Development, Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:
Bio-based Production, Indicators 
Erin LaFaive
erin.lafaive@ces.uwex.edu
Lecturer
Horticulture Educator

UW Extension, Eau Claire
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Agriculture & Natural Resources

Art Lersch
Arthur.lersch@ces.uwex.edu
Associate Professor
Community Resource Development Educator

UW Extension, Lincoln County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:    
Economic Development, Planning & Land Use
          
 

Sharon Lezberg
slezberg@wisc.edu
Sustainability Studies Scientist
College of Agricultural & Life Sciences,
University of Wisconsin - Madison
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:  
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:

Sustainable Agriculture

Lisa MacKinnon
MacKinnon@countyofdane.com
Sustainability Coordinator and Audit Analyst
Office of Dane County Board of Supervisors

Madison
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Sustainable Local Government Operations, Sustainability Policy Development, Sustainability Team Facilitation

Lynn Markham
Lynn.Markham@uwsp.edu
Land Use Specialist
Center for Land Use Education
University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:         
Eco-Municipality, Planning & Land Use, Energy & Climate Change, Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:
Rapid Climate Change & Energy Strategy, Sustainable Agriculture

Diane Mayerfeld
dbmayerfeld@wisc.edu
Sustainable Agriculture (SARE) Coordinator
Outreach Specialist
Center for Integrated Agricultural Systems, University of Wisconsin
- Madison
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:
Sustainable Agriculture

Tracey Mofle
tracey.mofle@uwc.edu
Special Projects Coordinator
University of Wisconsin - Barron County, Rice Lake
For more information on this team member, click here  

Areas of expertise:
Agriculture and Natural Resources, Community Stories, Consumer Choices
Specialized tools:
Local Food System Development, Sustainable Agriculture, Systems Thinking

Jay Moynihan
jay.moynihan@ces.uwex.edu
Community Development Educator
Instructor
UW Extension, Shawano County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Eco-Municipality, Economic Development, Planning & Land Use, Energy, Climate Change
Specialized tools:
Industrial Ecology, Climate Change Strategy, Ecological Economics, Full Cost Accounting, Life Cycle Assessment, Ecological Design, Biomimetics

Catherine Neiswender
catherine.neiswender@ces.uwex.edu 
Community Development Educator/Associate Professor
UW Extension, Winnebago County, Oshkosh

For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise: 
Eco-Municipality, Community Stories
Specialized tools: 
Systems Thinking
Jim Resick
james.resick@ces.uwex.edu
Community, Natural Resource and Economic Development
Educator
UW Extension, Outagamie County
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Economic Development

Jonathan Rivin
jonathan.rivin@uwsp.edu
Waste Management Specialist
Solid & Hazardous Waste Education Center
University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:
Sustainable Agriculture, Local Foods

Scott Sanford
sasanford@wisc.edu
Sr. Outreach Specialist
Rural Energy Program
Biological Systems Engineering, UW - Madison
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Energy, Climate Change, Agriculture & Natural Resources
Specialized tools:
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, Bio-based Production, Sustainable Agriculture
Kevin Schoessow
kevin.schoessow@ces.uwex.edu
Agriculture Development Agent
UW Extension, Burnett, Sawyer, Washburn
For more information on this team member, click here
Areas of expertise:  
Agriculture & Natural Resources

Cathy Techtmann
Catherine.Techtmann@ces.uwex.edu
Professor, Community Resource and Economic Development
Department Head, UW Extension Office
Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, Ashland
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Economic Development, Planning & Land Use, Agriculture & Natural Resources, Community Stories
Specialized tools:
Systems Thinking, Sustainable Agriculture

Diana Tscheschlok 
Diana.Tscheschlok@ces.uwex.edu

Instructor
Community Development Educator
UW Extension, Fond du Lac County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:         
Planning & Land Use, Agriculture & Natural Resources
 

Joe Van Rossum
vanrossum@epd.engr.wisc.edu
Recycling Specialist, Director
Solid & Hazardous Waste Education Center
UW Extension, Madison

For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Consumer Choices
 

Ingrid L. West
iwest@wisc.edu
Outreach Specialist - Regional Conservation Professional Training Program
Cooperative Extension Environmental Resource Center
University of Wisconsin-Madison
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of Expertise:
Agriculture & Natural Resources

Tom Wojciechowski
tom.wojciechowski@ces.uwex.edu
Assistant Professor
Community, Natural Resource and Economic Development Educator
UW Extension, Ashland County
For more information on this team member, click here

Areas of expertise:
Eco-Municipality, Energy, Climate Change, Community Stories

Specialized tools:
Green Meeting

 

Return to Capacity Center

Tool Box

Presentations

Publications

Sustainability Team Information

 

Contact Sustainability Team:

sustainability@uwsuper.edu